The Lady Wore White

U.S. Secretary of Labor Elaine Chao and I have a lot in common. We’re both in Buenos Aires for the inauguration of Cristina Fernández de Kirchner, Argentina’s new president. Now, I’m not too sure about her politics, but I like her a lot more than Hillary Cloneton. Cristina Fernández has so much more style than her Estadounidense counterparts.

What’s a president to wear? If you’re male, it’s easy: a suit. But for women, the decision is far more difficult. A dress for success suit just doesn’t cut it. And then there’s the matter of coming up with a color that doesn’t clash with the sash.

Cristina wore an off-white lace coat with a princess collar and three-quarter length sleeves over a plain sheath of the same color. It was an absolutely perfect mix, matching the formality of the occasion without heading over to the Mother of the Bride department.

At the moment she was being sworn in, I was at the atelier of Susi Hammer, trying on a coat of red and green Italian linen, finally finding a designer whose idea of style matched mine. I had absolutely no idea how moda light coats were.

Tonight as I watch the festivities on television from my apartment in Recoleta, I’d like to think that Argentina’s new president has set the standard for what women who’re president are supposed to wear.

5 comments on “The Lady Wore White

  1. LonghornDave says:

    Hey it was great to meet you the other night. Isn’t strange that the US administration sent the Sec of Labor? Is Argentina that unimportant that they had to go all the way down in rank to Sec of Labor. I understand not sending the VP Cheney. But what about Laura if you felt it was important to send a woman?

    Like

  2. There is absolutely no question that Laura Bush should’ve attended.
    But as far as I can tell my own country, Mexico, sent no one. Felipe Calderon should’ve attended.

    Like

  3. Allow me to correct myself. Patricia Espinosa, Secretaria de Relaciones Exteriores, did attend on behalf of Mexico.

    Like

  4. Esteban says:

    You don’t like Hillary but the blog is about fashion. Hmmmmmm. What is it about our new Argentine pres that you do like? I mean besides the coat?
    Aside from that, I can’t wait to go to take Tango lessons down in the Palermo district.

    Like

  5. jjr, at least post a foto or something for those of us who have absolutely no idea about fashion. Hell, I can’t even spell in a blog comment can I?

    Like

Leave a Reply

