No Suspicion Necessary

Your essential stuff – your laptop, thumb drive, cell phone, iPod, and even books and reading material – just got a little less sacred whenever you cross the border into or out of the U.S. And the government can keep your stuff for as long as it wants.

Read the U.S. Customs and Border Protection Policy Regarding Border Search of Information here.

It’s more than just chilling. It’s frightening.

 

7 comments on “No Suspicion Necessary

  1. billiem says:

    Yes, it is frightening. Not that there is anything on my computer of importance to the government but still where do you draw the line in the sand?

    Like

  2. Steve Cotton says:

    Worse than frightening: it is stupid. Just like airport security. Another example of government-subsidized performance art.

    Like

  3. Felipe Zapata says:

    I question the headline on this post. Yes, suspicion will be exactly what prompts any such extensive search. If you look like Yasser Arafat, head tablecloth and all, you may be subjected to this type of search.
    And if you are a smart ass.
    The reasonable solution is: Approach the border with a smile and normal attire.
    These rules are simply to legally justify an extensive search of people who grab their attention.
    Don´t grab their attention.
    I have no problem with it.

    Like

  4. But the very policy says “In the course of a border search, and absent individualized suspicion.”

    Like

  5. Aww, they write that so they won´t be accused of profiling. Don´t be fooled!

    Like

  6. Barbara says:

    I HAVE a real problem with it! On my recent trip to the border, I got a US Customs female with a real “attitude” who was rude and sharp. I always am relaxed and friendly but she needed to “justify her existence” and continued her rude behavior. Boy I wanted to yank her through my car window, but instead I smiled and waited. WHAT A sad example for people entering the USA! She would be one who would use that law just for her own justification……….

    Like

  7. Janese McAlpin Wagoner says:

    Hi, Jennifer! This is a voice from the past, I just found your website and want to say hello. I’m enjoying your blog and see you still have dry wit and great sense of humor, keep up the good work! About me, my kids are grown, Dennis and I are going on 22 years of wedded bliss, still live out on our five acres of heaven south of Clarinda. I’m keeping busy working (non-paid) for the OBAMA campaign, and being a loony leftist political activist. Ain’t life great?

    Like

Leave a Reply

