Below the Fold, Page A-6

shoes The Estadounidense response to and coverage of Monday evening’s attack in Morelia has been resoundingly quiet. Sean Mattson over at My SA Blogs, Cox News Service Mexican correspondent Jeremy Schwartz, The Los Angeles Times’ Deborah Bonello, and  The News’ David Agren have done most of the heavy lifting. English-language bloggers have been uncharacteristically quiet.

 U.S. Ambassador Tony Garza took his sweet time coming up with the usual diplomatic response. The U.S. State Department hasn’t updated its travel alert for over five months.

When I’ve brought up the topic with my friends in the U.S., a well-read bunch, they just didn’t seem to grasp the impact of what had happened. And these were the same folks who were outraged by a few gang-bangers who’d lost their heads in Uruapan a few years ago.  This is our 9/11, and Estadounidenses just don’t seem to care.

One Estadounidense blogger, lawyer Alan Bail picked up on the events, mostly, I suspect, because he’s been to Morelia three times before and laughs at my jokes.

Don’t get me wrong. I know the Northern Front’s been real concerned about money, bailouts, a failing economy, Bike, Sarah Palin’s e-mail, and who’s invited to Bristol’s combination wedding-baby shower, and there is that business about a war somewhere on the other side of the world, but is Mexico buried back below the fold on page A-6 in the print edition no one reads?

ADDENDUM: Over at Gone City, John Sevigny, a Mexico-based Estadounidense photographer, shares his aftershocks about Morelia.

5 comments on “Below the Fold, Page A-6

  1. Wayne says:

    I think you are both a bit right and a bit wrong. I think USAers (I hate to call them Americans) are as a whole a selfish, self-centered, egotistical bunch who care about little but themselves. The world begins and ends in the USA for them. “So some people died in Mexico. What’s the fuss all about?” is what most of them would say. I bet 9.5 out of 10 people could not even tell you where Morelia is! The other side of that coin is the expats who live in Mexico. Count me as one of those. We care. We see the horror of what happened. We understand what those grenades are saying and we are frightened. But we are not stupid. We love Mexico, that’s why we live here. ART 33 is an effective gag.

    Like

  2. Deb says:

    Agreed. Oddly silent on the English language blog front. And I am experiencing the same in that well-read friends up north either have not read about the attacks, or view this as just another incident of drug-related violence, failing to comprehend why the unspoken rules of this violent game have now changed.

    Like

  3. Enrique V. says:

    Escuché anoche en la tv que esta es una señal de que la guerra del gobierno ha pegado al narco.. sueno lógico por un lado, pero esa no es excusa, el narco está donde está gracias a lo el gobierno ha dejado de hacer hace muchos años y como siempre (y ahora mas que nunca) la poblacion es la que paga
    saludos :)

    Like

  4. CancunCanuck says:

    Someone just posted your link to my blog and I am grateful. I may not be in Morelia, but I certainly feel the pain and sadness of this event in Cancun. I am a teacher here, and I can tell you that in discussing the incident with my students (a mix of teenagers and adults), everyone in Mexico has been affected by this tragedy. It’s a further loss of innocence and no one feels safe. Sadly, in speaking with other “ex-pats/immigrants”, many people were completely unaware of the situation and that I find very discouraging indeed.
    I did blog about this on Wednesday, here’s the link… http://www.cancuncanuck.com/2008/09/tragic-independence-day.html
    May you find peace in Morelia and in your heart, my thoughts are with all of you there.

    Like

  5. I also have been surprised by the silence of the press in general about the bombings in Morelia – both the English and the US media. I’m not sure they grasp the importance of the event and its significance in the country.
    I visited the city a few days after the bombing. Blood was still on the streets. It was a sobering trip and my most harrowing yet after working here as a journalist in Mexico for a year and a half.

    Like

Leave a Reply

