Buy Me a Valentine

Día de Reyes has now passed, and I’m sure that many Staring at Strangers readers are now contemplating what to buy me for Valentine’s Day. I’m going to make it easy for you this year. No chocolates, no marzipan, no flowers, not even a new pair of Ferragamos. You don’t even have to give me Amazon credit, although I definitely won’t refuse it if you do.

Adriana Trigiani’s latest book, Brava, Valentine: A Novel, will be available at a bookstore near you during the first week of February, just in time for you to buy it for me. Having stayed up until the wee hours of the morning finishing off the first in this series, Very Valentine: A Novel, I am in desperate need to have the sequel in my hands as soon as possible. I can’t wait around for it to hit the bargain pile. I need it now.

Remember, it’s not just one superannuated and recovering lawyer lost in the wilds of central Mexico you’ll be helping with this purchase. You’ll be helping the author, the American publishing industry, truth, justice, the American Way, and everything that’s good and pure with your purchase. Because I live in Mexico, I can’t just sally over to Barnes & Noble or Borders and buy the book. But wait, there’s more. Whoever buys and sends this book to me will receive, completely free of charge, a tribute right on the pages of Staring at Strangers. That’s something Sally Struthers doesn’t even offer up for your support of a starving child in Africa. And when I’m finished to the book, I’ll even loan it to a worthy stranger.

Write me at jjrose@jjrose.com, and I’ll tell you where to send my Valentine.

2 comments on “Buy Me a Valentine

  1. That’s more expensive than Amazon!

    Like

Leave a Reply

