Selling My Sole to Veronique

P1030642

Every fortnight (or every 15 days if you’re in Mexico), Dan Perlman of Casa Salt Shaker, Buenos Aires’ best puerta cerrada, invites friends to cook with him remotely, linked up by way of a Google Hangout. Last week’s challenge was Sole Veronique, which you can read about at Dan’s blog:

Reinventing the Whisk, #1.

Now, here’s what could’ve been done on my end to improve upon this dish:

  • Add lemon zest. I forgot, and it was sitting right on the counter next to the stove.
  • Use dry vermouth instead of white wine, but not both. I happen to think that dry vermouth makes everything better and is the ideal alcohol-based cooking medium. I tend to get heavy-handed when it comes to adding wine to anything.
  • Add lemon slices to the poaching broth.
  • Try using white pepper instead of the wasabi. (Note to self: buy some white pepper.) Maybe add a little cayenne.
  • I had briefly toyed with the idea of wrapping the filet in saran and cooking it in the electric steamer, but now I’m intrigued by the idea of cooking it in Ziploc bag. I’m assuming the freezer bag quality would work. A FoodSaver hermetically sealed bag would’ve been even better. But then there would’ve been the loss of the fish-flavored poaching broth for the sauce.

I see this dish as having a lot of room for creativity and variation. And instead of explaining to anyone who doesn’t agree that “this is how it’s done in France,” simply tell them that “you’re not in France.”

While I was pleased with the fava bean, going for some color while using locally sourced produce, brown rice, wild rice or even Israeli couscous could’ve easily worked as well.

13 comments on “Selling My Sole to Veronique

  1. tancho says:

    I am glad that I am not the only one who “forgets” something which is part of the dish. Often even after I have done all my mise en place and have sat down to dinner, my wife will ask what are those juilienned green onions or carrots for? Or worse yet , one of the important last add ingredients essential to the whole dish.
    So now I have started to write myself a check list….how lame.

    Like

    • I’ve made entire dishes, only to leave them in the refri, not discovering them until the next day.

      Like

      • tancho says:

        And to prove nothing changes, I had a friend over for dinner last night, prepared a basil, garlic crusted rack of lamb, had corn, after dinner we came back into the kitchen to discover the Quinoa in the rice cooker that I started 1 hour before.
        So, now I have cold Quinoa to use the rest of this week….
        Perhaps having a whole bottle of wine prior to dinner had something to do with the memory fart.

        Like

  2. John Calypso says:

    Sure – we forget an ingredient now and again (it is a senior moment I suppose). WE also forget the carne and puerco being of sound mind and vegetarian (better than bacon ;-)

    Like

  3. Don Cuevas says:

    I suggested to RedShoes to use hoja santa (acuyo) to wrap the sole, but it was unavailable in her local OXXO.

    Saludos,
    Don Cuevas

    Like

  4. When I saw the word sole in the headline, I assumed we were back to shoes again. But no!

    Like

  5. Steve Cotton says:

    I was hoping sole was about shoes. At least, that would be interesting. Fish? Not so much.

    I really like your suggested substitutions. But I would have made one more. Take the sole. Toss it. Buy some good front yard chicken. Now, start.

    Like

Leave a comment